Quote from: Mosh
Quote from: bagman
"Special lady friend" sounds like I'm fucking a girl with down syndrome.
Dont knock it til you try it....

Current Food Thoughts(Read 131156 times)
Current Food Thoughts on: November 13, 2011, 11:09:00 PM
I'm making turkey stock from the carcass of Thursday's roast. It's my first attempt at stock, and I've kind of fucked it up, it turns out. Wasn't supposed to boil it, and I don't have a fine mesh strainer.

But this article reassures me some: http://www.salon.com/2011/01/22/how_to_make_stock/

I've had it boiling for a little over 2 hours now, and it's getting late so I'm gonna have to move along and turn it into a soup pretty soon.
ever tried. ever failed. no matter. try again. fail again. fail better.

Re: Current Food Thoughts Reply #1 on: November 13, 2011, 11:34:05 PM
(Pretty excited about this thread!!!)

So I've made my own soups for the last four years, and I don't have a fine mesh strainer. I always used half of the cooking liquid and froze the other half for other dishes. I mostly made chicken soup. I would take a large pot and put a collendar on top, and then a tea towel. I would have to hold the towel secure and hav someone pour the broth and chicken into the collendar slowly, then I would set the chicken aside to cool a little bit before taking the chicken off the bones. But using the tea towel allowed me to make very flavorful broth that had virtually no fat !!!!!

I'm not cooking these days, basically living off fruit and nuts.
 This is one of the best threads ever.

How did your stock turn out?!
All that we see or seem is but a dream within a dream.
-Edgar Allan Poe

-Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn-

Re: Current Food Thoughts Reply #2 on: November 14, 2011, 12:19:40 AM